Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art Home


Document first page thumbnail

[This document is a record] of the works by the artists linked to the Centro de Arte y Comunicación [Center for Art and Communication] (CAyC) who participated in the exhibition Arte de Sistemas [Systems Art] (Buenos Aires: Museo de Arte Moderno, July 1971). It contains an image or photo for each of the works by each artist, an explanation of these, and a brief biography of the corresponding artist.


The Centro de Estudios de Arte y Comunicación [Center for Art and Communication Studies] (CEAC) was created in 1968. Shortly after its first public exhibition Arte y Cibernética [Art and Cybernetics] (August- September 1969), it changed its name to the Centro de Arte y Comunicación [Center for Art and Communication] (CAyC). Led by director and theoretician Jorge Glusberg, the CAyC sponsored a number of different artists over time. The Grupo de los Trece [Group of Thirteen] was founded in 1971 and was comprised of Jacques Bedel, Luis Benedit, Gregorio Dujovny, Carlos Ginzburg, Víctor Grippo, Jorge González Mir, Vicente Marotta, Luis Pazos, Alfredo Portillos, Juan Carlos Romero, Julio Teich, Horacio Zabala, Alberto Pellegrino and Jorge Glusberg. Later, some of the artists left the group and new members were added. By 1975 the Grupo CAyC included Bedel, Benedit, Grippo, Portillos and Glusberg.

As part of the interdisciplinary activities undertaken by the CAyC from its beginnings in 1969 (See document 748067 “Qué es el CEAC” [“What is the CEAC”], in the Primera Muestra del Centro de Estudios de Arte y Comunicación de la Fundación de Investigación Interdisciplinaria presentada en la Galería Bonino de Buenos Aires [First Exhibition of the Center for Art and Communication Studies at the Foundation for Interdisciplinary Researchpresented by the Galería Bonino of Buenos Aires], August -September 1969), the CAyC began to organize courses and seminars offered by prominent intellectuals. Beginning in 1973 with the founding of the Escuela de Altos Estudios del CAyC [School for Higher Learning of the CAyC], these types of offerings became part of the school’s scope.

The following artists participated in the Arte de Sistemas exhibition (Buenos Aires: Museo de Arte Moderno, July 1971): Vito Acconci, Eleanor Antin, Arakawa, Sue Arrowsmith, David Askevold, Walter Ave, John Baldessari, Manuel Barbadillo, Robert Barry, Otto Beckmann, Luis Benedit, Mel Bochner, Christian Boltanski, Ian Breakwell, Eugen Brikcius, Stuart Brisley, Stanley Brouwn, Donald Burgy, Don Celender, Jürgen Claus, James Collins, Christo, Agnes Denes, Mirtha Dermisache, Antonio Dias, Geniy Dignac, Gregorio Dujovney, David Dye, Stano Filko, Barry Flanagan, Terry Fox, Herbert Franke, Ken Friedman, Maíz Fulton, Nicolás García Uriburu, Jochen Gerz, Gilbert & George, Carlos Ginzburg, Jorge González Mir, Dan Graham, Víctor Grippo, Klaus Groh, Hans Haacke, Olaf Hanel, Rafael Hastings, Douglas Huebler, Peter Hutchinson, Alain Jacquet, Richards Jarden, Allan Kaprow, On Kawara, Michael Kirby, Alain Kirili, Dusan Klimes, J. H. Kocman, Joseph Kosuth, Uzi Kotler, Christine Kozlov, Alexis Rafael Krasilovsky, Josef Kroutvor, Peter Kuttner, David Lamelas, John Latham, Auro Lecci, Les Levine, Richard Long, Lea Lublin, Jorge Gutiérrez de Luján, Mario Mariño, Vicente Marotta, Charles Mattox, Mario Merz, Mauricio Nannucci, Georg Nees, Dennis Oppenheim, Marie Orensanz, Luis Pazos, Alberto Pellegrino, Alfredo Portillos, Juan Pablo Renzi, Dorotea Rockburne, Juan Carlos Romero, Ed Ruscha, Bernardo Salcedo, Jean Michel Sanejouand, Richard Serra, Petr Stembera, Clorindo Testa, Antonio Trotta, Timm Ulrichs, Franco Vaccari, Jiri Valoch, John Van Saun, Bernar Venet, Edgardo Antonio Vigo, Lawrence Weiner, Ian Wilson, Robert Witman, William Woodrow and Gilberto Zorio.

Natalia Pineau.
Fundación Espigas, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Fundación Espigas.