Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art Home


Document first page thumbnail
Editorial Categories [?]

Act setting the regulations for the second call to participate in the Torcuato Di Tella Institute Prize. According to the second paragraph of the text, the contest will take place among painters, who—if invited—will show five works each. It also establishes that the winning artist will exhibit in a gallery either in Europe or the United States; moreover, that the winning artist will receive airfare and a monthly stipend for the expenses incurred during his stay. The jurors will be Giulio Carlo Argan and Jorge Romero-Brest.


In 1960 and a few months after having created the Centro de Arte del Instituto Torcuato Di Tella (ITDT) [Art Center of the Torcuato Di Tella Institute]—directed by a Council made up of Lionello Venturi, Ricardo Camino, Guido Di Tella and Jorge Romero Brest— the ITDT Prize was made possible. The purpose of this center was to cooperate in the diffusion and promotion of the visual arts and to keep in contact with other centers connected with production at both a national and an international level. Within this context, the Premio ITDT [ITDT Prize] was created to provide an opportunity for young Argentinean artists to enrich their experience abroad; nevertheless, its creation did not just allow for the awarding of the grant-prize, but it also spurred the circulation of international art in the local arena, becoming an important reference point for the visual arts renaissance of the time. This prize was awarded to national or international artists, with some variation depending on the year in question, until 1967. Beginning that year, it changed its name and became Experiencias Visuales [Visual Practices], and then just Experiencias [Practices] in 1968 and 1969. 

For this prize, the jury agreed to invite artists Hilda López and Américo Spósito from Uruguay; José Balmes and Pierre Eppelin from Chile. The participants from Argentina were: Juan Carlos Badaracco, Aníbal Carreño, Víctor Chab, Sarah Grilo, Mario Heredia, Rómulo Macció, Luis Felipe Noé, Kazuya Sakai, Antonio Seguí, Clorindo Testa, and Jorge de la Vega. 

Giulio Carlo Argan acted as juror, replacing Italian critic Lionello Venturi who died recently. At the same time, an exhibition was organized with the work of Antoni Tàpies, one of the greatest figures of the international Informalist movement, in tandem with Argentinean José Antonio Fernández-Muro’s production.

Cristina Rossi
Fundación Espigas, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Courtesy of Archivo di Tella, Universidad Torcuato di Tella, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Archivos Di Tella, Universidad Torcuato Di Tella de Buenos Aires, Argentina.