Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art Home


Document first page thumbnail
Editorial Categories [?]

Act by means of which the Di Tella Institute Prize is instituted. Yearly, it will be conferred to painters, sculptors, engravers-printers, ceramists, and other artists, to be decided. Likewise, in this document it is also established that the recipient of the 1960 Prize will be exhibited in Galeria Pogliani in Rome, receiving airfare and a monthly payment of $350 during his or her stay in Italy. That year’s jurors were Lionello Venturi and Jorge Romero-Brest.


In 1960 and a few months after having created the Centro de Arte del Instituto Torcuato Di Tella (ITDT) [Art Center of the Torcuato Di Tella Institute]—directed by a Council made up of Lionello Venturi, Ricardo Camino, Guido Di Tella and Jorge Romero Brest— the ITDT Prize was made possible. The purpose of this center was to cooperate in the diffusion and promotion of the visual arts and to keep in contact with other centers connected with production at both a national and an international level. Within this context, the Premio ITDT [ITDT Prize] was created to provide an opportunity for young Argentinean artists to enrich their experience abroad; nevertheless, its creation did not just allow for the awarding of the grant-prize, but it also spurred the circulation of international art in the local arena, becoming an important reference point for the visual arts renaissance of the time. This prize was awarded to national or international artists, with some variation depending on the year in question, until 1967. Beginning that year, it changed its name and became Experiencias Visuales [Visual Practices], and then just Experiencias [Practices] in 1968 and 1969. 

The artists invited to this first edition of the Torcuato Di Tella Institute Prize (exhibited in October, 1960) were: Juan Carlos Badaracco, Carlos Cañás, Aníbal Carreño, Víctor Chab, Néstor Del Corral, José Fernández- Muro, Alberto Greco, Sarah Grilo, Kenneth Kemble, Ezequiel Linares, Alfredo Hlito, Alisá Luzzati, Rómulo Macció, Horacio Mazza, Josefina Miguens, Luis Felipe Noé, Miguel Ocampo, Marta Peluffo, Rogelio Pollesello, Mario Pucciarelli, Kazuya Sakai, Clorindo Testa, Jorge de la Vega, Alicia Giangrande-Yadwiga, and Luis Wells.

Cristina Rossi
Fundación Espigas, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Courtesy of the personal archives of Alicia and León Ferrari, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Courtesy of Archivo di Tella, Universidad Torcuato di Tella, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Universidad Torcuato Di Tella de Buenos Aires, Argentina. Archivos Di Tella. Buenos Aires, Argentina