Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art Home


Document first page thumbnail

The article reports on the creation of the Asociación de Pintores y Escultores Independientes located at the Calle Reloj, 6 in Mexico City. Its members included the artists José Clemente Orozco, José María. Fernández Urbina, David Alfaro Siqueiros, José Luis Figueroa, Clemente Islas Allende, and Amado de la Cueva. The society of independent artists was exclusively dedicated to painting and sculpture in order to achieve progress in these arts. The group likewise worked toward the improvement of its members by energetically trying to counteract the disastrous influence of antiquated and conservative influences. Certain officials were designated as honorary members.


This 1917 article marks the beginning of artists attempting to create opposition groups and leads up to the creation of the 1924 SOTPE (Sindicato de Obreros, Trabajadores, Pintores y Escultores) [Union of Laborers, Workers, Painters and Sculptors]. The initial group of 1917 lacked political objectives, but three of its members —José Clemente Orozco (1883–1949), David Alfaro Siqueiros (1896–1974), and Amado de la Cueva (1891–1926)—would later be involved with the SOTPE, which did have overt political motivations.

Esther Acevedo
CURARE, Espacio crítico para las artes, Mexico City, Mexico
Instituto de Investigaciones Bibliográficas : Biblioteca Nacional/Hemeroteca Nacional. México D.F., México